Choices
12:16 a.m. || Monday, Jan. 20, 2003

Someone said that it was a comment on cultural influences, someone else disagreed. A woman in a mild yellow shirt asked me to press the button for the third floor. It was already pressed, we were all going to the third floor. The elevator jolted, beeped, as we moved up.

She asked me, Had I just seen The Hours? And, Wasn't it a terrible movie? I remarked that Actually I liked it, and she said she Didn't Understand It.

I remarked that it was the first movie I had seen where people thought and acted the way I did most of the time. She clucked, Poor dear.

I didn't and don't think that that merited sympathy, but oh well. Eleanor and I began walking to the car. She had an A's sweatshirt on. Someone drove by, yelling "RAAAIIIDDERRRRSSS," and Eleanor smiled.

I heard the lady say, "You take care of yourself, dear!"

And the best thing is, I am. I've made some good decisions lately, and I feel good about myself. People like that woman no longer make me feel intimidated, or bad about myself.

I've applied for my passport. I'm nearly done with applying for college. I am ready to do something different in my life.

I know it will not make me happier, but I might become happier anyway, if I choose to.

-C

before || after